
Which online defensive driving course should I use in Idaho?
5 Idaho Transportation Department-approved schools compared on price and rules. Prices verified 8 October 2026.
We compared 5 Idaho Transportation Department-approved online defensive driving courses on price, course length, timers, final exam and how completion reaches the DMV, using each school's own site. Prices verified 8 October 2026.
Key facts (2026)
- Online course available
- Yes, for point reduction
- Ticket dismissal
- No, point credit instead
- Course length
- 6 hours
- Typical cost
- from $19.00
- Eligibility
- Available to Idaho drivers completing an approved defensive driving course; the point reduction is available once every 3 years (IDAPA 39.02.71.400). Confirm eligibility with the Idaho Transportation Department.
- Certificate submission
- Driver Submits
Rules last verified August 2026
We may earn a commission if you enroll through our links. It never changes a school's score or rank.
Compare 5 online defensive driving courses in Idaho
| School | Price | Course length | Timers | Final exam | Completion reporting | TSP Score | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveSafe Online | $24.95 | 6 hours | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 4.6 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| DriversEd.com | Price not published on site | 6 hours | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 4.3 out of 5 | School page |
| Traffic School Online | $29.97* | 6 hours | Not stated | Yes | Driver submits | 4.2 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| I Drive Safely | $19.00 | 6 hours | Not stated | Yes | School reports | 4.0 out of 5 | School pagechecked 8 Oct 2026 |
| GoToTrafficSchool | $22.00* | 6 hours | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 3.0 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
* All-in price: the school's own page states this is the total you pay, with any mandatory school fee (certificate, processing or state fee) included. Court fees are separate.
Every row is checked against the school's own site. Rows we have not priced show a direct link. Prices verified 8 October 2026. Report an error: hello@trafficschoolpicker.com.
Before you pick a course
- License from another state? Read the out-of-state ticket guide
Reviewed in detail
DriveSafe Online
Top RatedOur take
Investopedia's 'Best Overall' pick, with a cinematic full-video course
Pros
- Named Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course by Investopedia
- Full-screen cinematic video, no text walls
- Money-back guarantee if certificate not accepted
- No hidden fees
Cons
- −Not available in all 50 states
DriversEd.com
Our take
Trusted since 1998, available in all 50 states, with a premium course experience
Pros
- Available in all 50 states
- In business since 1998, one of the most established providers
- Covers the full state curriculum with strong state-specific material
Cons
- −Higher price point than competitors
- −Related to iDriveSafely, same parent company (I Drive Safely LLC)
Traffic School Online
Our take
Top-rated and state-approved across the states it covers
Pros
- State-approved in covered states
- Electronic submission to court or DMV included
- Money-back guarantee
- Strong customer support reputation
Cons
- −Limited state coverage vs all-50-state providers
- −No dedicated mobile app
I Drive Safely
Lowest priceOur take
Among the most widely accepted online traffic schools, available in all 50 states
Pros
- Available in all 50 states
- Electronic certificate submission, no mailing required
- Lowest price in most states
Cons
- −Course design feels dated compared to newer competitors
- −No dedicated mobile app, browser-based only
GoToTrafficSchool
Our take
Lowest price guarantee, approved in 46 states, serving drivers since 2000
Pros
- Lowest price guarantee that beats any competitor
- Pay-later option: take the full course free, pay only at the final exam
- Serving drivers since 2000
- Available in 46 states
Cons
- −Only 230 Trustpilot reviews, thin social proof
- −Upsell-heavy: extra charges for read-along and same-day certificate
- −Mixed customer feedback on support and add-ons
We independently research and review all schools. Prices are checked periodically and may change or differ at checkout, so confirm the current price on the school's site. We may earn a commission if you enroll via our links, at no extra cost to you.
Ticket in Idaho, license from another state?
This page is written for drivers who hold a Idaho license. If you got the ticket in Idahobut your license is from another state, different rules decide what reaches your home state's record and whether a course helps.
Read the out-of-state ticket guideIdaho license, ticket from another state? Same guide, other direction.
Idaho does not dismiss tickets through traffic school. What it offers is a point reduction: completing an approved six-hour defensive driving course takes three points off your driving record (IDAPA 39.02.71). This lowers your point total rather than dismissing the ticket, so the conviction stands. Confirm your eligibility with the Idaho Transportation Department before you enroll. Last checked August 2026.
Reduces points, not a dismissal
In Idaho, completing an approved course reduces or credits points on your driving record. It does not dismiss the ticket, and the conviction still stands. Confirm the course you pick is state-approved for the point credit before you enroll.
The True Cost of a Ticket in Idaho
An Idaho moving-violation conviction adds points to your record and can raise your insurance. An approved defensive driving course reduces three of those points (IDAPA 39.02.71), which limits the insurance and suspension impact. It does not dismiss the ticket, so you still pay the fine. Last checked August 2026.
IdahoTraffic School Rules & Requirements
Online Status
Online, point reduction
Course length: 6 hours
Eligibility
Available to Idaho drivers completing an approved defensive driving course; the point reduction is available once every 3 years (IDAPA 39.02.71.400). Confirm eligibility with the Idaho Transportation Department. Last checked September 2026.
Court Acceptance
Idaho's benefit is a point reduction, not a dismissal. Completing an approved six-hour defensive driving course reduces three points from your driving record (IDAPA 39.02.71); the ticket conviction still stands. Last checked August 2026.
Certificate Submission
Driver Submits
Official DMV
Idaho Traffic School FAQ
Does traffic school dismiss a ticket in Idaho?
No. Idaho's benefit is a point reduction: completing an approved defensive driving course reduces three points from your record (IDAPA 39.02.71). The conviction still stands.
How long is the Idaho defensive driving course?
Six hours (IDAPA 39.02.71).
How often can I reduce points in Idaho?
Once every 3 years (IDAPA 39.02.71.400). Confirm eligibility with the Idaho Transportation Department.
DMV-licensed online traffic schools in Idaho
Directory data coming soon. We're collecting the official Idaho DMV listing.