
Which online driver improvement course should I use in Missouri?
5 Missouri Safety Center-approved schools compared on price and rules. Prices verified 8 October 2026.
We compared 5 Missouri Safety Center-approved online driver improvement courses on price, course length, timers, final exam and how completion reaches the DMV, using each school's own site. Prices verified 8 October 2026.
Key facts (2026)
- Online course available
- Yes, for point reduction
- Ticket dismissal
- No, no points added for that conviction
- Course length
- 8 hours
- Typical cost
- from $19.95
- Eligibility
- Requires court approval; you must complete the course within 60 days of the violation, and the point reduction is available once in any 36-month period. Commercial-license holders and commercial-vehicle violations are not eligible (RSMo § 302.302).
- Certificate submission
- Driver Submits
Rules last verified August 2026
We may earn a commission if you enroll through our links. It never changes a school's score or rank.
Compare 5 online driver improvement courses in Missouri
| School | Price | Course length | Timers | Final exam | Completion reporting | TSP Score | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveSafe Online | $24.95* | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes | Driver submits | 4.6 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| DriversEd.com | Price not published on site | 8 hours | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 4.3 out of 5 | School page |
| Traffic School Online | $29.97* | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 4.2 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| I Drive Safely | $19.95 | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 4.0 out of 5 | School pagechecked 8 Oct 2026 |
| GoToTrafficSchool | $29.95* | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes | Driver submits | 3.0 out of 5 | School pagechecked 1 Oct 2026 |
* All-in price: the school's own page states this is the total you pay, with any mandatory school fee (certificate, processing or state fee) included. Court fees are separate.
Every row is checked against the school's own site. Rows we have not priced show a direct link. Prices verified 8 October 2026. Report an error: hello@trafficschoolpicker.com.
Before you pick a course
- License from another state? Read the out-of-state ticket guide
Reviewed in detail
DriveSafe Online
Top RatedOur take
Investopedia's 'Best Overall' pick, with a cinematic full-video course
Pros
- Named Best Overall Online Defensive Driving Course by Investopedia
- Full-screen cinematic video, no text walls
- Money-back guarantee if certificate not accepted
- No hidden fees
Cons
- −Not available in all 50 states
DriversEd.com
Our take
Trusted since 1998, available in all 50 states, with a premium course experience
Pros
- Available in all 50 states
- In business since 1998, one of the most established providers
- Covers the full state curriculum with strong state-specific material
Cons
- −Higher price point than competitors
- −Related to iDriveSafely, same parent company (I Drive Safely LLC)
Traffic School Online
Our take
Top-rated and state-approved across the states it covers
Pros
- State-approved in covered states
- Electronic submission to court or DMV included
- Money-back guarantee
- Strong customer support reputation
Cons
- −Limited state coverage vs all-50-state providers
- −No dedicated mobile app
I Drive Safely
Lowest priceOur take
Among the most widely accepted online traffic schools, available in all 50 states
Pros
- Available in all 50 states
- Electronic certificate submission, no mailing required
- Lowest price in most states
Cons
- −Course design feels dated compared to newer competitors
- −No dedicated mobile app, browser-based only
GoToTrafficSchool
Our take
Lowest price guarantee, approved in 46 states, serving drivers since 2000
Pros
- Lowest price guarantee that beats any competitor
- Pay-later option: take the full course free, pay only at the final exam
- Serving drivers since 2000
- Available in 46 states
Cons
- −Only 230 Trustpilot reviews, thin social proof
- −Upsell-heavy: extra charges for read-along and same-day certificate
- −Mixed customer feedback on support and add-ons
We independently research and review all schools. Prices are checked periodically and may change or differ at checkout, so confirm the current price on the school's site. We may earn a commission if you enroll via our links, at no extra cost to you.
Ticket in Missouri, license from another state?
This page is written for drivers who hold a Missouri license. If you got the ticket in Missouribut your license is from another state, different rules decide what reaches your home state's record and whether a course helps.
Read the out-of-state ticket guideMissouri license, ticket from another state? Same guide, other direction.
Missouri does not dismiss tickets through traffic school, but it does allow a point reduction. With the court's approval, completing an approved eight-hour Driver Improvement Program course means no points are assessed for that conviction (RSMo § 302.302); it does not subtract points already on your record. You must finish within 60 days of the violation, it is available once in any 36-month period, and commercial-license holders are not eligible. Because it needs court approval, ask the court printed on your citation before you enroll. Last checked September 2026.
Reduces points, not a dismissal
In Missouri, completing an approved course reduces or credits points on your driving record. It does not dismiss the ticket, and the conviction still stands. Confirm the course you pick is state-approved for the point credit before you enroll.
The True Cost of a Ticket in Missouri
A Missouri moving-violation conviction adds points to your record and can raise your insurance. With court approval, an approved Driver Improvement Program course keeps points from being assessed for that conviction (RSMo § 302.302), which limits the insurance and suspension impact. It does not dismiss the ticket, so you still pay the fine. Last checked September 2026.
MissouriTraffic School Rules & Requirements
Online Status
Online, point reduction
Course length: 8 hours
Eligibility
Requires court approval; you must complete the course within 60 days of the violation, and the point reduction is available once in any 36-month period. Commercial-license holders and commercial-vehicle violations are not eligible (RSMo § 302.302). Last checked August 2026.
Court Acceptance
Missouri's benefit is a point reduction, not a dismissal. With court approval, completing an approved eight-hour Driver Improvement Program course means no points are assessed for that conviction, once in any 36-month period and only within 60 days of the violation (RSMo § 302.302). The conviction still stands, and commercial-license holders are not eligible. Ask the court on your citation to approve the course first. Last checked September 2026.
Certificate Submission
Driver Submits
Official DMV
Missouri Traffic School FAQ
Does traffic school dismiss a ticket in Missouri?
No. With the court's approval, an approved eight-hour Driver Improvement Program course means no points are assessed for that conviction (RSMo § 302.302). The conviction still stands, and it does not subtract points already on your record.
How often can I use the Missouri point reduction?
Once in any 36-month period, and you must complete the course within 60 days of the violation (RSMo § 302.302). Commercial-license holders are not eligible.
How long is the Missouri course?
Eight hours, meeting the National Safety Council standard (RSMo § 302.302).
DMV-licensed online traffic schools in Missouri
Directory data coming soon. We're collecting the official Missouri DMV listing.